+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|  TPWD News Release 20040726d                                            |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|  This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes.          |
|  It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying            |
|  and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages.             |
|  To copy the text into an editing program:                              |
|    --Display this page in your browser.                                 |
|    --Select all.                                                        |
|    --Copy.                                                              |
|    --Paste in a document in your editing program.                       |
|  If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send            |
|  an e-mail to webtech@tpwd.state.tx.us and mention Plain Text Pages.    |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+

[ Note: This item is more than 10 years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: Kristen Everett, 512-389-8046, tpwd.news@tpwd.texas.gov ] [KE]
July 26, 2004
TPWD Implements Marine Dealer, Boat Titling Changes
Extra! Read All Aboat It!
AUSTIN, Texas -- Reminder!!!! The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission adopted rules which comply with House Bill 2926, passed during the last legislative session. Some of the new rules address the following issues:
--License regulations for Marine Dealers, Distributors, and Manufacturers.
--Registration decal placement for specific circumstances.
--Defining acceptable situations for the issuance of bonded tiles for vessels or outboard motors.
"This legislation provided administrative cleanup and expansion to laws that protect the consumer and provide for the collection of existing fees outlined by law," said Frances Stiles, manager of boat titling and registration at TPWD.
There are a variety of new rules. Following is a breakdown of the new rules by the dates they became effective.
Jan. 1, 2004:
--People must register U.S. Coast Guard-documented vessels and must display a registration decal.
--For antique boats, the registration decal may be placed on the windshield. If the boat does not have a windshield, the decal may be attached to the wallet-sized certificate of number and carried on board.
--There is a new "Bonded Title" fee of $35. This security bond allows another avenue for the consumer to follow-through on ownership when there is lack of documentation, like a non-signed title transfer.
March 1, 2004:
--There is a mandatory licensing process for all marine dealers and an increase in the license fee from $130 to $500. Game Wardens are allowed to inspect records held by anyone selling boats and motors.
"We didn't have lot of control over these dealers -- it was a voluntary system but they didn't have to buy a license if they didn't want to," said Alfonso Campos, Chief of Marine Enforcement at TPWD. "If businesses or individuals sell five or more boats or motors in a calendar year, they need to have a license."
For more information, call Frances Stiles (512) 389-4860 or Campos at (512) 389-4624.
-30-