+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|  TPWD News Releases Dated 2011-03-31                                    |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|  This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes.          |
|  It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying            |
|  and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages.             |
|  To copy the text into an editing program:                              |
|    --Display this page in your browser.                                 |
|    --Select all.                                                        |
|    --Copy.                                                              |
|    --Paste in a document in your editing program.                       |
|  If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send            |
|  an e-mail to webtech@tpwd.state.tx.us and mention Plain Text Pages.    |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------+

[ Note: This item is more than three years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: Tom Harvey, 512-389-4453, tom.harvey@tpwd.texas.gov ] [TH]
March 31, 2011
Volunteers Vital for Wildlife, Parks, Outdoor Education
AUSTIN - April is National Volunteer Month, and folks who love state parks, hunting and fishing in Texas have plenty tocelebrate. In 2010, volunteers provided close to 955,000 hours of service worth an estimated $16.9 million to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
Texas State Parks and Historic Sites alone receive volunteer service worth approximately 290 FTEs annually, saving TPWD's State Parks Division almost $10 million per year in avoided costs for administrative, maintenance, interpretive, and park host duties throughout the state.
But volunteers are also vital for wildlife management areas and state fish hatcheries. And TPWD has entire education programs that are built upon and could not function without large and well-trained corps of statewide volunteers, including hunter, boater and angler education and archery instruction.
Volunteers support TPWD's traveling Life's Better Outside Experience at partner events. They also make possible programs like Texas Master Naturalists, Texas Nature Trackers, the Texas Youth Hunting Program, Coastal Expos, and more.
Links to volunteer opportunities are on TPWD's Get Involved web page.
News reporters who want to explore story angles involving specific TPWD volunteer efforts, or people interesting in volunteering for particular opportunities, may contact any of the agency volunteer coordinators listed below.
--Angler Education Instructor Program (statewide)Ann Miller, Program Coordinator, (512) 389-4732, ann.miller@tpwd.texas.gov
--Archery Instructor Program (statewide)Burnie Kessner, Program Coordinator, (979) 862-7341, burnie.kessner@tpwd.texas.gov
--Battleship TEXAS/San Jacinto Battleground (LaPorte)Beth Tragus, Volunteer Coordinator, (281) 479-2431, ext. 244, beth.tragus@tpwd.texas.gov
--Boater Education Instructor Program (statewide)Nancy Herron, (512) 389-4362, nancy.herron@tpwd.texas.gov
--Buffalo Soldiers Heritage & Outreach Program Luis Padilla, (512) 389-8569, luis.padilla@tpwd.texas.gov
--Crab Trap Clean-up (coastal regions)Art Morris, (361) 825-3356, art.morris@tpwd.texas.gov
--Coastal Expo (statewide)Kris Shipman, Program Coordinator, (512) 389-8737, kris.shipman@tpwd.texas.gov
--Hummingbird Roundup (Statewide)Mark Klym, Program Coordinator, (512)389-4644, mark.klym@tpwd.texas.gov
--Hunter Education Instructor Program (statewide)Terry Erwin, Program Coordinator, (512) 389- 8140, terry.erwin@tpwd.texas.gov
--Fish Hatcheries:
--A.E. Wood Fish Hatchery (San Marcos)Rob Schmid, Hatchery Manager, (512) 353-0572, rob.schmid@tpwd.texas.gov
--Jasper Fish Hatchery (Jasper)Reese Sparrow, Hatchery Manager, (409) 384-2221, reese.sparrow@tpwd.state.yx.us
--Dundee Fish Hatchery (Electra)Dennis Smith, Hatchery Manager, (940) 586-1203, dennis.smith@tpwd.texas.gov
--Possum Kingdom Fish Hatchery (Graford)Dale Lyon, Hatchery Manager, (940) 799-2301, dale.lyon@tpwd.texas.gov
Life's Better OutsideŽ Experience (statewide)Trey Hamlett, (512) 389-4361, trey.hamlett@tpwd.texas.gov
Old Tunnel WMA (Fredericksburg) Nyta Hensley, Manager and Volunteer Program Coordinator, (830) 990-2659, nyta.brown@tpwd.texas.gov
Project WILD Coordinator (statewide)Kiki Cory, Program Coordinator, (512) 389-4369, Kiki.corry@tpwd.texas.gov
Sea Center Texas (Lake Jackson)Connie Stolte, Volunteer Coordinator, (979) 292-0100, connie.stolte@tpwd.texas.gov
STATE PARKS (statewide)Lori Reiley, State Parks Volunteer Program Coordinator, (512) 389-4746, Lori.Reiley@tpwd.texas.gov
Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center (Athens)Mona Farmer, Volunteer Coordinator, (903) 670-2228, mona.farmer@tpwd.texas.gov
Texas Master Naturalist (statewide)Michelle Haggerty, Program Coordinator, (830) 896-2504, mhaggerty@ag.tamu.edu or michelle.haggerty@tpwd.texas.gov
Texas Nature Trackers (statewide)
--Marsha May, (512)389-8062, Marsha.may@tpwd.texas.gov
--Lee Ann Linam, (512) 847-9480, leeann.linam@tpwd.texas.gov
Texas Outdoor Family (statewide)Chris Holmes, (979) 229-2886, chris.holmes@tpwd.texas.gov
TEXAS YOUTH HUNTING PROGRAM (statewide)Jerry Warden, 210-930-2177, jwarden@texas-wildlife.org
WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS (statewide)Dennis Gissell, 512 389-4407, dennis.gissell@tpwd.texas.gov
---
On the Net:
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/involved/volunteer/
-30-

[ Note: This item is more than three years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: Tom Harvey, 512-389-4453, tom.harvey@tpwd.texas.gov ] [TH]
March 31, 2011
April 6 Live Chat Puts Fisheries Pros Online for "Ask an Expert: Spring Fishing 2011"
AUSTIN - It's spring spawning season for Texas freshwater fish and a great time to go fishing. In the second installment of a new "Ask An Expert" live chat series, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will host an online session noon-1 p.m., Wednesday, April 6 where freshwater fisheries experts will answer questions and talk about what's biting, how to catch 'em and where to go.
Join the conversation online on the TPWD Ask An Expert web page. There is no sign-in required to participate and even if you don't have a question, anyone is welcome to "listen in" as the experts share their knowledge about Texas fishing.
The following TPWD experts will be online for the live Q&A:
--Mark Webb, Fisheries Biologist, Houston Area
--Tom Hungerford, Fisheries Biologist, Dallas/Fort Worth Area
--Steve Magnelia, Fisheries Biologist, Austin Area
--Randy Myers, Fisheries Biologist, San Antonio Area
--Dave Terre, Inland Fisheries Chief of Fisheries Management and Research
--Ken Kurzawski, Inland Fisheries Fishing Regulations Coordinator
---
On the Net:
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/askanexpert/springfish2011/
-30-